2018, 2017 Little East Conference/Alliance Champions

Marshall, Helderman and Vesosky Recognized by LEC

Marshall, Helderman and Vesosky Recognized by LEC
Huskies Head to Brandeis on Saturday

            GORHAM, Maine -- Three members of the University of Southern Maine men's track and field team received weekly honors when the Little East Conference announced its weekly awards for men's track and field Monday afternoon.

            Senior Jared Marshall (Gloucester, Mass.) was picked as the Track Athlete of the Week for the first time this season, and the third time in his career.  For second straight week, and the fourth time in his career, senior Ron Helderman (Madison, Maine) is the recipient of the Field Athlete of the Week honor.  Freshman Tom Vesosky (Colchester, Vt.) was selected as the Rookie Track Athlete of the Week for the second straight week.

            Making his indoor season debut at the USM Open II meet on Saturday, Marshall swept the 55-meter dash and 55-meter hurdles.  Marshall began his afternoon by winning the 55-meter hurdles with a time of 7.76 seconds.  He return shortly thereafter to post the quickest time in the 55-meter dash trials at 6.51 seconds.

            In the dash final, Marshall posted a time of 6.43 seconds to eclipse the school record time of 6.48 set by Zach Miller on February 6, 2016.  Marshall's time in both events met the New England Division III Championships qualifying standard.  His dash time presently ranks third nationally (converted to a 60-meter time of 6.92) among NCAA Division III athletes, and is tops in New England.  His hurdles time ranks 12th nationally (converted to 8.36) and is the best in New England.

            Helderman won the pole vault by clearing a season-best 4.80 meters (15-9).  Helderman's mark ranks second nationally, and first in New England.

            Vesosky won the 200 meters with a time of 23.51 seconds.  His time ranks him ninth in New England.

            Southern Maine will compete this Saturday at the Reggie Poyau Invitational being held at Brandeis University.