18 Consecutive (2001-2018) LEC Championships

Southern Maine Wins Four LEC Postseason Awards

Southern Maine Wins Four LEC Postseason Awards

            GORHAM, Maine -- The Little East Conference today announced that the University of Southern Maine women's indoor track and field team captured four of the five individual postseason awards for the recently completed 2011-12 season following a vote by the head coaches.

            Freshman sensation Hannah Wiley (Arundel, Maine/Thornton Academy) led the parade coming up with an unprecedented double by sweeping the Rookie Track Athlete and Rookie Field Athlete of the Year awards.  Junior Molly Carl (York, Maine) was voted the Track Athlete of the Year, and veteran head coach George Towle is the recipient of the Coach of the Year honor for the fourth time in the five-year history of the awards program.

            Wiley had one of the finest seasons in the history of the USM women's program, capped off by her competing at the NCAA Division III National Championships in the 400 meters and the triple jump.  During the season, Wiley was named the LEC Rookie of the Week on three occasions, and the Rookie Field Athlete of the Week six times.

            During the season, Wiley set school records in the 200 (26.03 seconds) and 400 meters (56.87) and in the triple jump (38-2 1/4).  She also participated on the Huskies school record 4 x 200-meter relay (1:45.67).

            In one of the most impressive performances in the history of the LEC Championships, Wiley won titles in the 55-meter hurdles (8.59), 200 meters (26.03) and triple jump (36-1 1/2), and was second in the 600 meters (1:37.68) and long jump (17-7).

            Wiley earned Division III All-New England honors in the 600 meters and triple jump, NEIcAAA All-New England honors in the 400 meters, and All-ECAC awards in the 400 meters, long jump and triple jump.

            Carl had a breakout season earning four LEC Track Athlete of the Week honors and competing in the mile at the NCAA Division III National Championships.  At the LEC Championships, Carl became the first female competitor to win the mile and the 3,000 meters in the same meet.  She also had a second-place finish in the 800 meters.

            A cross country All-American in the fall, Carl set three school records during the season.  She became the first USM female to break the five-minute barrier in the mile when she cross the line in 4 minutes, 59.52 seconds at the NEIcAAA Championships in February.  She also set the school standard in the 3,000 meters (10:15.17) at the LEC meet and the 5,000 meters (17:53.86) in January.  Carl also received Division III All-New England accolades in the mile.

            Towle guided the Huskies to their 12th consecutive sweep of the LEC and New England Alliance Championships, a top-ten finish at the New England Division III Championships, and a 15th-place result at the ECAC Division III Championships.

            Under his direction, Wiley and Carl advanced to the NCAA Championships, and four members of the team were named to the LEC Winter All-Academic squad.

Little East Conference

Women's Indoor Track and Field Awards

Track Athlete of the Year

2011-12            Molly Carl, Southern Maine

2010-11            Amy Knoblock, Keene State

2009-10            Allison Chamberlain, Keene State

2008-09            Emily Artesani, Southern Maine

2007-08            Jennifer Adams, Keene State

Field Athlete of the Year

2011-12            Janel Haggerty, Keene State

2010-11            Kim Mangum, Rhode Island College

2009-10            Bethany Dumas, Southern Maine

2008-09            Kayla Fleming, Rhode Island College

2007-08            Crystal Blamy, Keene State

Rookie Track Athlete of the Year

2011-12            Hannah Wiley, Southern Maine

2010-11            Ezra Banks, UMass Dartmouth

2009-10            Maggie Fitter, Keene State

2008-09            Andrea Walsh, Keene State

2007-08            Steina Fleming, Rhode Island College

Rookie Field Athlete of the Year

2011-12            Hannah Wiley, Southern Maine

2010-11            Jessica Masse, UMass Dartmouth

2009-10            Christina Massey, Southern Maine

2008-09            Bethany Dumas, Southern Maine

                        Kim Mangum Rhode Island College

2007-08            Christina Connolly, Southern Maine

Coach of the Year

2011-12            George Towle, Southern Maine

2010-11            George Towle, Southern Maine

2009-10            George Towle, Southern Maine

2008-09            Kevin Jackson, Rhode Island College

2007-08            George Towle, Southern Maine

Team Sportsmanship Award

2011-12            Eastern Connecticut State University

2010-11            Eastern Connecticut State University

2009-10            University of Southern Maine