Al Bean Named Under Armour AD of the Year

Al Bean Named Under Armour AD of the Year

            GORHAM, Maine -- The National Association of Collegiate Directors of Athletics (NACDA) announced Monday that Al Bean, Director of Athletics at the University of Southern Maine, is among the 28 winners of the Under Armour Athletic Director of the Year Award (ADOY).  The award spans seven divisions (NCAA FBS, FCS; Division I-AAA, II, III, NAIA/Other Four-Year Institutions and Junior College/Community Colleges).

            Winners will receive their awards during the James J. Corbett Awards Luncheon on Saturday (June 15) at NACDA's 48th Annual Convention at the World Center Marriott Resort in Orlando, Florida.

            NACDA Executive Director Bob Vecchione explains the ADOY Award is essential because it highlights the efforts of athletics directors at all levels for their commitment and positive contributions to student-athletes, campuses and their surrounding communities.

            "Since 1998, NACDA has been highlighting significant contributions made by athletics directors across all divisions of our membership," said NACDA Executive Director Bob Vecchione. "This award allows athletics directors to be recognized not only nationally, but also in their respective communities which heightens the awareness of their leadership position in the athletics enterprise."

            “I’m humbled and deeply honored to be receiving this award from NADCA and Under Armour,” commented Bean.  “This is not something you ever expect as an athletic director and being honored among your peers is certainly significant.  I’d like to thank both organizations for selecting me to receive this special award.”

            All NACDA-member directors of athletics in the United States, Canada and Mexico who met the criteria were eligible for the award.  Among the criteria were service as an AD for a minimum of five academic years; demonstration of commitment to higher education and student-athletes; continuous teamwork, loyalty and excellence; and the ability to inspire individuals or groups to high levels of accomplishments.  Additionally, each AD's institution must have passed a compliance check through its appropriate governing body (i.e., NCAA, NAIA, etc.), in which the institution could not have been on probation or cited for a lack of institutional control within the last five years during the tenure of the current athletics director.

            Nominators were NACDA-member directors of athletics, institutional presidents and conference commissioners.  Special Selection Committees composed of current and former directors of athletics, present and past NCAA and NAIA presidents, current and former commissioners and other key athletics administrators voted on nominees for the award.  A complete listing of Selection Committee members can be found on NACDA's Web site at

            Winners of the 2012-13 Under Armour AD of the Year Awards are:





Football Bowl Subdivision

Jeff Compher

Northern Illinois University

John Currie

Kansas State University

Jeff Long

University of Arkansas

Kevin White

Duke University


Football Championship Subdivision

Bill Chaves

Eastern Washington University

Bruce McCutcheon

Lafayette College

Mario Moccia

Southern Illinois University

Mark Wilson

Tennessee Tech University


Division I-AAA

Charles Brown

University of Maryland Baltimore County

Janet Cone

University of North Carolina Asheville

Ken Kavanagh

Florida Gulf Coast University

John Stanley

University of Evansville


Division II

Pennie Parker

Rollins College

Tim Selgo

Grand Valley State University

Scott Wiegandt

Bellarmine University

Sue Willey

University of Indianapolis


Division III

Al Bean

University of Southern Maine

Ed Farrington

Western Connecticut State University

Howard Patterson

University of Texas Tyler

Margie Strait

St. Lawrence University


NAIA/Other 4-Year Institutions

Greg Feris

Wayland Baptist University

Mike McCutchen

Freed-Hardeman University

Meg Schebler

Ashford University

Bob Wilson

Vanguard University


Junior/Community Colleges

Ron Case

Gloucester County College

Jim Forkum

Santa Rosa Junior College

Randy Stange

Hutchinson Community College

Troy Tucker

Northampton Community College


            The third person since 1955 to serve as the Director of Athletics at the University of Southern Maine, Bean has a four-decade long relationship with the institution as a student-athlete, assistant coach, sports information director, assistant athletic director and athletic director.  He became the permanent director of athletics in July 1995 after serving as interim Athletics Director for two years.

            A former teacher at Windham High School and a freelance sports writer, Bean began his professional association with USM in 1978 as an assistant baseball coach. He returned to his alma mater on a full-time basis in 1983 as the sports information director, and continued to serve as an assistant baseball coach at various times over the next decade.

            Following the retirement of Dick Costello as director of athletics in 1990, Bean took on additional duties as the Assistant Athletics Director under interim AD Paula Hodgdon.  He succeeded Hodgdon in 1993 as interim AD. During his time as interim AD, he initiated an external review of the USM’s facilities and programs that resulted in the construction of a new field house, ice arena and soccer field, and more recently the baseball field upgrade and the development of Hannaford Field. 

            During his years at USM, Bean has been instrumental in the formation of the USM Athletic Association, a support group that now includes over 500 members. He was involved in the creation of the Husky Hall of Fame and is a member of that distinguished body.  Bean is also a member of the Maine Baseball Hall of Fame and the Little East Conference Hall of Fame. 

            Formerly the commissioner of the Little East Conference (1995-2000), an eight-member, all-sports conference of which USM is a charter member, Bean also served as the conference’s first publicist for four years (1986-90).

            Beginning August 1997, Bean served a four-year term on the NCAA’s Division III Management Council.  Among his committee assignments, he served as an advisor to the National Student-Athlete Advisory Committee, Administrative Review Committee, served as the Chair of the Division III Playing and Practice Season Committee and was a member of the Board of Directors for the National Youth Sports Program.  Bean has also sat on the NCAA Sports Wagering Task Force and was the chair of New England Regional Baseball Committee and was a member of the national committee.  Bean is also the former chair of the Women’s Ice Hockey Committee.

            Bean is a past president of the National Association of Division III Athletic Administrators (NADIIIAA) and is a member of the Board of Directors for the National Association of Collegiate Directors of Athletics (NACDA).  He is also presently on the ECAC Board of Directors.  Active within the community, Bean is a former member of the Board of Directors for the Maine Children’s Cancer Program (MCCP) and the Jesse B-C Fund.

            Bean and his wife, the former Robin Blattenberger, have three children and reside in Buxton, Maine.  He received his undergraduate degree in education and history in 1977, and earned a master’s in education from USM in 1992.